Monday, August 5, 2013

In which my lungs are slightly crushed but it's okay

Hello, readers.

I am making a conscious effort to not write this entire post in the style of Welcome to Night Vale, because, although it would undoubtedly be amusing to me, most of you would probably find it confusing and alarming.
...this is actually harder than it sounds because I am currently reading everything in Cecil's voice, which may be a sign that I have overdosed on Night Vale.

OH WELL.  ANYWAY.

Picking up where we left off last time, on Sunday, Lee (the only undergrad in our kobun and kanbun classes, who we all love dearly) came to visit Yokohama!*  He and Danica and I went to the amusement park by IUC, which we had been eyeing forever.  They have a very famous rollercoaster called Diving Coaster: VANISH!, and, yes, the name is written like that.  Anyway, we rode on that, which was an exciting experience!  To begin with, it had one of those over-the-head harness/restraint things, which, it turned out, kind of wanted to crush all of our chests.  Additionally, the roller coaster goes REALLY REALLY FAST and I think that that was the most G's I have ever experienced in my life????  And I think I forgot to breathe for most of the ride.  Which was probably good, because as we were going around the last few curves, the harness decided that it would be a good idea to get even tighter, and so as we pulled up to the unloading area, Lee remarked that he thought he had about 25% of his lung capacity.  In other words, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT, especially if you're riding with people who are likely to scream comically.
Speaking of screaming comically, there was a flue ride with a scream-o-meter, and we scored really low and it was embarrassing.
Also there was this shooting game (imagine Astro Blasters) called Cave of Echidnas, and all I can say is, wow, Japan, your echidnas are kind of weird, and also look like they should be really scary Pokemon.  This is an echidna.  This is some kind of hellish beast.  There is probably a Night Vale joke to be made here.

After that we walked around Yokohama, which is to say that we walked from one end of the Minato Mirai line to the other.  We wound up in a cafe with mattresses (???) that was projecting Across the Universe on a big screen and also Chinatown.  It was an exciting evening.

Monday, Valerie, another one of our classmates, was in town, so all four of us met up for purikura, karaoke, and dinner.  Purikura was hilarious as usual, and I must say that I look significantly better with a mustache than Lee does.
Also, true facts about karaoke: visual-kei = bad idea; just don't do it, okay

DINNER:


It was delicious.


Look at these fabulous people.  (Left to right: Lee, Danica, me, Val)
Note that this is 4/7ths of our kobun class.
(Picture callously stolen from Danica.)


(This picture was also callously stolen from Danica.)

So that was fun!

Val came back to spend the evening with us again on Wednesday, but other than that, it hasn't been all that exciting over here.  It is still too hot for living.  Today was our final, and tomorrow we have final presentations.  I am starting to pack stuff up, in preparation to fly back to the States on Thursday.  I need to buy omiyage, which will probably happen tomorrow.  At some point I should probably go on that danged ferris wheel that everyone goes on in Yokohama, just to say that I did it.  And then I should go on Diving Coaster: VANISH! again, because you've never lived until your lungs have been slightly crushed.

Good night, Night Vale, good night.  
(Shhh, I tried; don't judge me.)

*Lee is currently living in Osaka, just to be clear.  It's not like he came all the way from the States just to visit us.

EDIT: So a huge chunk of this blog's traffic is coming from what is very clearly a PUA blog.  This is curious, because if you try to PUA** me I will probably start puking feminist blog posts on you.  True facts about me!  So, uh, dear PUA who keeps somehow redirecting traffic from his blog to mine, I am not interested in your tricks for seducing women by observing their unique psychology (????), because strangely enough I think women are people are not objects (WHAT????  BLASPHEMY!!!!), so, in summary, no, no, no, NOPE, NOPE, NOPE, NO THANK YOU, BYE.

**I have made an executive decision that it is a verb now.

No comments:

Post a Comment